The Secrett Kitchen – an introduction

Welcome to the Secrett Kitchen blog!

The Secrett Kitchen is a blog all about cooking, recipes, food markets, and anything else relating to gastronomy and cuisine.

Let me start by introducing myself…..

I am a keen cook who is passionate about all things related to fine food and gastronomy. Growing up in a family of foodies, and with access to beautiful fresh ingredients from Secretts farm, I established a keen interest in cooking and food from an early age. I was lucky that both my grandmothers and my parents have always been excellent chefs, and that they were kind enough to share many expert tips about flavours, preparation and techniques with me.

Over the years, I developed my skills, knowledge and creativity, taking culinary inspiration from my many travels around the globe. I have completed cooking courses in Thailand, Morocco and Italy, and always take great pleasure in discovering the local delicacies wherever I am in the world. I have travelled extensively throughout Africa, Asia, North and South America, Europe and Australasia, and I think that my style of cooking reflects these various influences.

Nowadays, I live in the South of France with my husband Rich, the number 1 fan of my food! We are lucky to be based in such a beautiful part of the world, with so many fantastic food markets, restaurants and chefs to inspire me. The pace of life here is far more laidback than my past corporate lifestyle in London, and this has enabled me to spend more time creating delicious meals in my kitchen. Alongside my work as a business and management consultant on the French Riviera, I also offer occasional catering for private parties and small events on the Côte d’Azur.

This blog is just a hobby for me, and is the result of quite a few requests from friends and family to put pen to paper about some of my recipes and ideas. It will also serve as a reminder for me when I have forgotten what I usually cook at the change of each season! Most of the ideas I will write about are not difficult to do, but sometimes you just need inspiration in the first place to help you create those delicious dishes!

I hope you enjoy reading some of the Secretts from my kitchen….

Carey Secrett  x

Leave a Reply

