Thai sweet potato soup

I love sweet potatoes, but I really don’t use them often enough in my kitchen. So the other day, I stocked up with the intention of creating a new recipe to add to my repertoire of staples. I am a big fan of Thai food, after travelling throughout the country for several weeks, and having been involved with the bi-annual Secretts Thai Festival at our family farm for many years. So I came up with the idea of a Thai-style soup, made using sweet potatoes and coconut milk.

The end result was delicious, and I will certainly be making it again as a quick and easy starter.

Thai style soup with sweet potato and coconut milk - photo courtesy of BBC good food

Thai sweet potato soup

What you need

950g sweet potatoes (this doesn’t have to be totally exact, but I used three largish sweet potatoes and this is what they weighed)

1.5 large onions

2 teaspoons of good red Thai curry paste (I always use the entertainingly named “Cock Brand” of pastes which come in a big plastic tub and are available from Asian shops or good supermarkets)

1.5 litres of chicken stock

1 tin of coconut milk (or 50:50 coconut milk to coconut cream if you prefer a richer soup)

Juice of 1/2 a lime (or 1/4 of a lemon will suffice)

1 teaspoon of sugar

Fresh coriander

Peel and grate the sweet potatoes (I peel them and then use my magimix to grate them in order to save time and elbow grease).  Heat about 1 tablespoon of vegetable oil in a deep pan and then cook the onion gently until it is soft. Add the curry paste and cook for another minute or so, mixing it in with the onion. Add the stock and the grated sweet potato, and bring to the boil. Simmer for 5-10 minutes until the potato is nice and tender. Add in the sugar, lime juice and coconut milk and mix through. Season with salt. Remove from the heat and blitz using a mixer. Sprinkle some fresh coriander on the top before serving.

Soup-er easy to make!

4 thoughts on “Thai sweet potato soup

  1. Pingback: 10 things I never knew about the Sweet Potato « babiesneedbooksblog

Leave a Reply

