Today’s healthy and delicious lunch idea! Chickpea, lentil and feta salad

Tasty salad of feta cheese, lentils, chickpeas and vegetables- an abnormally healthy start to the weekend!

With the impending arrival to the South of France of one of our good friends this weekend, it is likely that there will be a fair amount of food eaten and probably even more wine consumed! So today for my lunch, I decided that I needed to eat something healthy to offset the forthcoming unhealthiness and calorific excess.

With a few ingredients that needed using up in the fridge, I created this healthy vegetarian salad using feta cheese, lentils, chickpeas and some vegetables. I used a green pepper (because that was what I had), however I decided afterwards that it would be nicer with a red pepper as they are a bit sweeter. So I have changed the recipe, but my photo shows the salad made with a green pepper.

Healthy lunch food- salad of feta cheese, lentils and chickpeas with fresh vegetables. Photo by Carey Secrett

Tasty vegetarian salad- chickpeas, lentils and feta cheese

It was very tasty! I felt a bit guilty that I sent my husband off to his office today with a bit of mouldy cheese and a stale baguette for his lunch while I got to eat a much nicer lunch working from home!

How to make this easy, vegetarian salad

Ingredients

1 red onion, finely chopped

About 15 juicy cherry tomatoes, chopped into little pieces

1/2 red pepper, diced (I used green, but red would be better)

1 x 400g tin cooked chickpeas

1 x 400g tin cooked lentils

1 x block feta cheese (mine was 200g)

3 tablespoons good quality olive oil (Lucky me, having fresh olive oil from Sam’s Dad!)

Juice of 1 medium sized lemon

Generous handful of flatleaf parsley, finely chopped

1 teaspoon of runny honey

2 teaspoons cajun seasoning

Simply pop the chopped onion, pepper, tomatoes, chickpeas and parsley in a bowl and mix with the olive oil, lemon juice, cajun and honey. Mix the ingredients through and then add the feta and lentils (I leave them out to begin with because if they have too much mixing they will go a bit mushy). Season well with salt and pepper. Lentils and chickpeas need quite a bit of flavour added to them so don’t be shy with the seasoning.

Serve with a French baguette or a nice crusty loaf.

Et voila…..delicious and healthy vegetarian lunch in 5 minutes.

Now, could somebody please pass me the chocolate cake!

Leave a Reply

