Old fashioned chocolate and cream fudge

Delicious recipe for chocolate fudge made with double cream.

Little bites of chocolatey, fudgey goodness!

 

traditional fudge recipe

 

I’ve been pretty slack with writing my blog recently (last post in May 2012 I was ashamed to realise!) It has been a very busy time for us here in France in recent months, and whilst I have been doing plenty of cooking and creating in the Secrett Kitchen, there has been a lot less time free for writing about it!

My day off work today has also been the fourth day of relentless rain here on the Riviera (not what we signed up for in the South of France), and I couldn’t bring myself to leave the house. Even the dog didn’t want to go outside in the rain, and made this very clear by taking a big poo on the floor. Thanks for that George.

But the plus side of being housebound, with only the challenge of trying to correct the puppy’s unruly indoor bowel movements to occupy me, was that I finally got round to updating my blog with my newly created recipe for chocolate and cream fudge – a veritable indulgence for anyone with a sweet tooth!

George the puppy

George the puppy, whose house-training has taken a few steps back since the rain began

Tomorrow, we’re going to our first ever 1st birthday party! We must be growing up. Rich suggested that we take the huge magnum of rosé that is chilling nicely in the fridge. But I pointed out that since the bottle of wine is actually bigger than the baby we’re going to see, that perhaps it wasn’t the most appropriate offering for a 1 year old. You can tell we’re new to this whole baby party thing.

So I decided to have a go at making fudge. This recipe is my take on traditional chocolate fudge, which I have made with lashings of double cream for a delicious rich chocolatey flavour. Let’s hope the kids tomorrow enjoy it as much as we did. The rosé will just have to wait until we get home!

 

How to make delicious traditional fudge with chocolate and cream

Ingredients

675g granulated sugar

70g unsweetened cocoa powder

240g double cream (in France, I use Crème fleurette entière as a substitute)

pinch of salt

55g butter

1 teaspoon vanilla

 

You will also need a baking tin (I use an 8 inch square one), lined with baking parchment, and ideally a food thermometer. I have a fantastic digital thermometer from Lakeland that I find is an essential piece of kit in my kitchen.

Instructions

  • Line the baking tin with baking parchment.
  • Mix the sugar, cocoa and salt together in a heavy-based pan (I always use a Le Creuset casserole for this kind of thing)
  • Stir in the cream
  • Cook the fudge on a medium heat, stirring until the mixture comes to the boil

20130308_161024

 

  • Stop stirring the chocolate mixture, but continue to let it boil until the fudge reaches 115°C. Clearly having a thermometer is the best way to keep on top of this, but if you don’t have one, you can test it by dropping a small amount of the mixture into cold water – it is ready if it forms a soft ball.

20130308_162605

 

  • Once the correct temperature is reached, take the chocolate fudge mixture off the heat and add the butter and vanilla. Do not stir it.
  • Leave the fudge to cool at room temperature to 43°C.
  • Then, beat it with a wooden spoon until the fudge thickens and begins to lose its glossy appearance.
  • Then immediately spread into the lined tin, and even out. If the fudge has gone too hard to spread, you can tip it out of the tin,  put another piece of baking paper and a chopping board on top of the fudge and apply pressure to even it out.
  • Allow the fudge to cool, then chop into squares.

Excellent chocolate fudge recipe

Leave a Reply

